Week 2 — Where I am @

Andrew Wilcox
1 min readOct 3, 2020

--

I’m going to write where my design practice is at the moment, so I’m just going to go through some areas where I do well and areas where I could do better.

I am confident doing typography, writing, brand strategy, ideation, drawing, adobe suite, and giving feedback. While I can still learn much more within these areas, this is where I feel strongest.

There are several areas where I could do better, and clearly communicating ideas is one of them. I feel as if I sometimes rush and speak before fully articulating my thoughts. Another area is time management, and I need to get into the habit of scheduling time, instead of taking an ‘it’ll been done when its done approach,’ which is often counterproductive. Similarly, I tend to spend too much time at the ideation phase, rather than committing to a decision to move forward, and that is tied into another area which is ‘mistakes.’ On a logical level, I realise their value for creativity but I do recognise that I have a tendency to avoid making ‘mistakes.’ So I suppose you could call that an aversion to taking risks, and that I could have more faith in my gut instinct.

This is where, to the best of my knowledge, I am at now within my design practice.

--

--